This Week at the Cygnet Market

Hi everyone,

The Pantry is bursting at the seams with beautiful , fresh, organic products from Tasmania and Australia. I have spent the morning making my popular gluten-free muesli, revamping my bircher into a wonderful porridge and re-introducing my lemon myrtle dukkah plus a new dukkah, with zingy, green peppercorns. These are all made from fresh, organic, Australian ingredients.

Every week I have fresh supplies of most things, including Four Leaf grains which are milled to order. If you are not aware, grains lose their vitality and begin to deteriorate as soon as they are milled. Rancid, processed foods account for much trouble in the health of humans, as most crops are milled into flour, flakes, grits, oils, meal, ground nuts etc and THEN stored for as long as 2 years before reaching supermarket shelves. Many digestive ills and some cancers have been linked to rancid grains, nuts, seeds and oils. Often this cannot be detected by taste.

Four Leaf Milling store the whole grains, unprocessed, until I send in my order and only then does processing begin. You can’t get fresher and healthier than that without milling everything yourself.

The Johnston almonds I sell are also cracked to order. You will never buy almonds from me that have been cracked more than a few weeks, such is their popularity. I have fresh supplies about once a month.

Patlin Gardens olive oils are kept in airtight, dark, steel tanks until I put in an order. Then the oil is decanted into 20 litre drums and sent to me. I then keep it in a cool, dark place until all is decanted into glass bottles ready to sell. These are also kept cool and dark, only making an appearance into warmth and light at the market.

New this month
I am very excited about the new pumpkin seeds I have purchased from the Australian Pumpkin Seed Company! Grown originally in Qld, the family have now moved to Victoria, which makes shipping affordable for me to get their products here to Tasmania. I have raw and also toasted and lightly salted. Come and try them at the Cygnet market this Sunday.

Travel the World on the High Teas….. new workshop
Similar idea to last year’s World of Warm Winter Breads, 12 people will gather in my kitchen in late July to learn about and sample High Teas from 4 cooks from around the world. Not only will we have Australian, French Moroccan and Chinese delicacies for you but also a decadent vegan cheesecake and even who-would-know-its-gluten-free foods too! High Tea traditionally consists of sweet and savoury, so even diabetics will be welcome!

To book a place, follow this link and register your interest. The cost will be $60 for 3 hours of inspirational fun and food. You will receive all the recipes in a booklet on the day. Numbers are strictly limited to 12 but if there is sufficient interest we will schedule another session. Payment must be made before the day and the details for doing this will be sent out with confirmation of your place.

Come and see us on the stage at the market this Sunday!

All the best,

Kate and Lenny

3 thoughts on “This Week at the Cygnet Market

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added
    I get several emails with the same comment. Is there
    any way you can remove people from that service?
    Bless you!

    Like

    • That sounds VERY annoying. I think it has to be done from your end. Can’t you uncheck that box? I will contact WordPress and ask why you are getting more than one email / comment.

      Like

We'd love to hear from you.

