Organic dried fruit from Murray River Organics now arrived

About 80% of Australian shoppers prefer to buy Australian made and owned goods but find it difficult to identify the extent to which a product is Australian due to poor, inaccurate or misleading labels which are not effectively regulated by food and consumer authorities such as the ACCC.

Supporting Australian made food is important for the development of Australia’s food industry to ensure consumers are aware how ‘Australian’ their food really is, to promote local jobs and keep profits on Australian soil.  It also encourages Australian companies to continue to provide the best and freshest food. So next time you visit your local supermarket, look closely at the labels and ensure you buy foods that are wholly made, grown and owned in Australia.

You can be guaranteed that every product that is sold by The Garden Shed and Pantry is sourced from local suppliers (usually direct from the grower) or (if the product is not grown or made here in Australia such as some spices) we make an effort to source product that is grown in its native region.

After careful research and discussions with the growers, we are now able to provide to you organic sultanas and currants that are produced in the Sunraysia area (one of Australia’s premier fruit growing areas near Mildura, Victoria).

Murray River Organics sultanas

Murray River Organics currants

Please find below an excerpt from the local newspaper about the expansion of Murray River Organics (MRO).

YELTA-based organic food producer Murray River Organics will become Sunraysia’s third dried fruits processor in early April, after successfully bidding for the processing plant of former Warracknabeal processor Clyne Foods at auction last month.

Murray River Organics (MRO) sales manager Mark Sandiford said Australia was witnessing the closure of agricultural processing facilities and sell-offs to overseas corporations. Irymple-based Sunbeam and its Angas Park subsidiary were now majority-owned by China’s Bright foods Group, and with the demise of Clyne Foods, growers were fortunate that another Australian, family business had stepped in with a large investment to ensure Australian consumers could buy Australian-grown and processed fruit of the highest quality.

Mr Sandiford said more than 2000 tonnes of dried fruit – currants, sultanas, Summer Muscat, sunmuscat, and gordo blanco – would pass through the facility in the next 12 months.

“We are committed to organic farming and producing real fruit the traditional way, without chemicals, pesticides or growth hormones,” he said.

This article appeared in Saturday’s Sunraysia Daily 24/03/2012.

Read the full story here.

A popular dried fruit company here in Australia is Sunbeam Foods, which was established in 1926. Sunbeam acquired Angus Park Fruit company in 2004. The company was bought by Manassen Foods in 2007, which was bought by China’s Bright Food in 2011. So much of Australia is no longer owned by Australians.

5 thoughts on “Organic dried fruit from Murray River Organics now arrived

  1. Pingback: Quinoa and Oats Porridge | The Garden Shed and Pantry

  2. Pingback: Lentil and Rice Twists with Broccoli | The Garden Shed and Pantry

  3. I agree 100% with the buying local to support local business but were I come unstuck is with all the packaging! I refuse to buy “organic” foods in very not organic actually poisonous plastic packaging it is an oxymoron to me. I would love to support more local business but I don’t because of this, I now forage and hunt for most of my food source because it seems to be the only way to avoid polluting our precious planet with plastics and I go without if I cant find supply with out plastic packaging end of story.
    I wish you well in all you do I love your philosophy and am mentioning this in the hope it will encourage suppliers of foods to find alternatives to all the packaging, yes I know it is very hard I used to have a veggie stall and the 100% bio bag’s I used were horrendously expensive but we must find a way as it is no use worrying about looking after your body and what you put in it if at the same time you are polluting the very planet all life relies on. No offense intended to anyone!
    Cheers P 🙂

    Like

    • I encourage everyone to bring their own bags to my home shop and market stall. I also sell bags made by a local woman, for refilling with pasta and grains. Everything I sell, I endeavour to do as sustainably as possible and when I shop, I ALWAYS use my own bags. Tasmania is very behind in this regard and most of my customers do not bring their own bags, despite my pleas. At the market stall, I have tried using brown paper bags, with a recipe printed out on them but people do not buy them, and always prefer the products that look pretty, in plastic!! You and I are together on this dilemma. What do we do next?

      Like

      • I don’t know mate, my stall was just a hobby really I didn’t rely on it as an income I was doing it because there was no other food out here for the tourist and they would turn around and leave our valley and wouldn’t see what was being destroyed out here, I used biodegradable dog poo bags that was all I could afford and there was only one supplier of 100% biodegradable bags in Aus at the time after doing that by myself for a coupler years I went around and tried to get other businesses to go in with me for the proper (not dog poo) bag’s but I could get anyone to put their money where their mouths were so I struggled along for another few years because I felt obliged to for the tourist and to get the awareness of the environmental issues out there but I ended up shutting shop because I just could do it anymore, it was costing me money from my pension and was contributing more and more to my chronic pain problems, I was hoping a younger/fitter person out here would take up the baton and run with it but that didn’t happen so now there is nothing out here for anyone well tourist the local didn’t support me……..
        And I was doing it illegally too I wasn’t following any “food regulation” so I know how all most impossible it is to actually do here now we are so regulated and so afraid of everything that hasn’t been completely sterilized to death, so I really feel for you and wish I could be of more help I really do but like I said the only way I can sustain my life in a ethical way now days living out in the bush is to forage, grow my own and fish and hunt when I physically can, weeds have been a blessing and I’m healthier for this life style too it is a more truthful way of being anyway and it is the only way I see of avoiding GM……
        It sound like you are trying really hard to do the rite thing and other than just strait out refusing to use packaging which I am aware is almost impossible the only other avenue I see is to petition states to ban ALL plastic packaging and educate people and kids in schools, I’m not one for a nanny state but if people don’t have the conscience to make these decisions then it needs to be imposed upon them I’m afraid because this it to important to the future of life on this planet even after us! Cheers and good luck 🙂

        Like

We'd love to hear from you.

